Clarion Grad on the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year Nominees

Christina Sather

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — The Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference has announced West Chester’s Kaitlin Hatch and Clarion’s Christina Sather as the league’s 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year nominees.

The NCAA Woman of the Year award, established in 1991, honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, service and leadership throughout their collegiate careers.

Hatch played a key role in West Chester’s back-to-back PSAC Field Hockey Champion teams, including a selection as the 2018 PSAC Tournament MVP.  She distinguished herself as a 2017 PSAC Fall Top Ten representative, selected by the conference for outstanding achievements in both athletics and academics.

This past year Hatch earned a spot in the top five in several league statistical categories on offense.  She capped off an incredible career as she was named to the CoSIDA All-District Two At-Large team, the Zag Field Hockey/National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division II National Academic Squad and the Google Cloud/CoSIDA Academic All-America Third Team.

A member Clarion’s swimming and diving team, Sather earned All-America accolades eight times in diving. She claimed the 2019 NCAA DII Diving national championship in the 3M event, following 1M national championship the year before.  Among her eight All-America awards, Sather claimed First-Team All-America as a sophomore in both the 1M (2nd) and 3M (5th) events.

Sather was recently selected as a 2018-19 Google Cloud/CoSIDA Academic All-America honoree and was named the College Swimming Coaches Association of America Diver of the Year for the second consecutive season.  She also distinguished herself as one of the league’s Top Ten winners.

The nominees competed in 23 different sports across all three NCAA divisions, including 262 nominees from Division I, 131 from Division II and 192 from Division III. Multisport student-athletes account for 144 of the nominees.

The Woman of the Year selection committee, made up of representatives from the NCAA membership, will choose the top 30 honorees — 10 from each division.

The selection committee will determine the top three honorees in each division from the top 30 and announce the nine finalists in September. From those nine finalists, the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics will select the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year.

The Woman of the Year will be announced and the top 30 honorees will be celebrated at an annual awards ceremony dinner on October 20 in Indianapolis.

Kristin Day, a former diver from Clarion, won the prestigious award in 2015. She remains the league’s only winner of the honor.