Wednesday, April 10 is when Act 79 was passed, the first new gun law Pennsylvania’s seen in over 14 years.
October 12th, 2018 was the day legislation passed for Act 79. Act 79 would be, as Gov. Tom Wolf called it, “the first major gun safety bill in decades in Pennsylvania.”
This law would give victims of domestic violence an extra security blanket from their abusers. Convicted domestic abusers with a PFA (protection from abuse order) are required to turn in their guns to law enforcement.
Previously, anyone convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence would have 60 days under state law to relinquish their firearms. Act 79 has changed that 60 day period to an immediate 24 hours.
“With Act 79, victims of domestic abuse will know that Pennsylvania is working to protect them from their abusers,” Gov. Wolf said. “The incidents of domestic violence where guns are involved in our commonwealth prove that this commonsense law is an important step to protect victims of domestic abuse, save lives, and hold abusers accountable for their actions.”